Polysorbate 20

We just received into the store a shipment of Polysorbate 20 and I can’t wait to put it to use. What is Polysorbate 20, you ask? It is a semi thick liquid  emulsifier commonly used to bring together fragrance oils and essentials in water or alcohol so they don’t separate. Examples would be body sprays, all natural bug sprays, pet sprays, etc. It is water-soluble, gentle and non-irritating. I have a flee/tick essential oil blend for a soap bar that I love for my little dog. It is all natural and good for Pebbles as well as my family. I mix the essential oils together and put a little on my hands and rub her down with it. As I was giving her a rub down one day, I thought, “This would be great as a spray. And it would be great to spray a BIG dog like our son’s German Shepherd, Jerry.” I mean, rubbing down a little dog with your hands is one thing but it would take a very long time to rub down a big dog! So I researched a bit and found that you can mix essential oils in vodka, which can be used as an emulsifier. I tried that right away, but my essential oils still separated from the vodka. It didn’t completely separate like oil and water but enough that you would have to give it a good shaking before use. I also learned that you do not want to store your new concoction in a plastic spray bottle! The essential oils will start to break down the plastic and it will become part of your new spray. It is best to put in a glass spray bottle or an aluminum spray bottle. I certainly can’t wait to get started on my new all natural bug spray Imageand my flee and tick spray. Usage rate is as follows: Combine equal amounts of your fragrance/essential oil and the Polysorbate 20 until you achieve a clear solution then add this mixture to your water or alcohol.

Leave a Reply

